Antifreeze Product Registrations

Important: You must provide proof of citizenship or legal residency when you apply for a license. GDA requires S&V (Secure & Verifiable) documents for all licensees. See the S&V Details page and S&V FAQ for complete information.

Reminder: Please make sure your mailing address, email, and phone number are up-to-date, and that your voicemail is not full.  There will be a delay in getting your license if we need to reach you but don't have usable contact information.

Program Area

GDA’s Fuel Program manages Antifreeze registrations. Questions about the program or regulations? Please review the Fuel Program web page or contact their staff at the number below. 

Antifreeze distributors must register all antifreeze and engine coolant products that they sell.  

You Need this Registration If

You offer, expose, distribute, pack, or hold with intent to sell antifreeze for sale in Georgia.

Fees and Registration Period

Registrations are annual and run from July 1 to June 30 each year

The annual registration fee is $50 for each product.

How to Apply for or Renew your Registration

Download and complete the Brand Application or Renewal forms on the Fuel Program web page, then send to the contact shown on the forms.  You must include formulation certificates for each brand when you first apply or if you add a new brand.

Include the license fee of $50.00 for each brand or type of antifreeze, and a product label (color label, front & back, as they appear on the container).

Submit registration of your products electronically.  Visit for instruction. All electronic documents must be in PDF format.

Formulation certificates:

  • Each product must have a formulation certificate.
  • All relevant boxes must be checked off and all information must be filled out.
  • The name of the product in the formulation certificate must match the name of the product in the label.
  • Certified, signed test report(s) of the product formulation prepared by an independent laboratory recognized by the Georgia Department of Agriculture are required.  See the form’s instructions for more details.
  • Georgia legislation requires the addition of denatonium benzoate in antifreeze sold after July 1, 2012 (Chief Law). Please include the exact amount of denatonium benzoate (30- 50 ppm range) in the certified, signed antifreeze test report(s).
  • The antifreeze product label must contain wording such as “Bitterant added”, “Contains Bittering Agent” or have denatonium benzoate listed as an ingredient.
  • If you have any questions regarding the completion of the formulation certificate, please contact David Au, State Oil Chemist at 229-386-3486; Fax 229-386-3369, and email

What Happens When You Apply for a Registration

  1. GDA staff will review your forms and  documentation once we receive them.
  2. If you are not located in the state of Georgia, you will be asked to provide a notarized Consent to Service of Process form.
  3. Once the application has been reviewed, you will then receive an email from us requesting your S&V paperwork.
  4. Once your S&V paperwork has been received and approved, you will be notified by email how to log in and pay your license fee.
  5. When you pay your fee, your certificate will be mailed to you within 1 - 7 business days.

Respond promptly to any questions or notifications, and make sure GDA can contact you if needed!