Ga Dept of Agriculture

 

Meat Inspection

Hanging Beef

Aaron Knighton MPH
Director of Meat Inspection
19 MLK, Jr. Drive SW, Room 102
Atlanta, GA 30334
mailto:Aaron.Knighton@agr.georgia.gov
Tele: 404-656-3673
Fax:  404-463-1998

Kimberly Shaw-Buckner
Director's Secretary
Email: Kimberly.Buckner@agr.georgia.gov
Tele: (404) 656-3673

Andrea Smith
Program Manager of Meat Inspection
Andrea.Smith@agr.georgia.gov
Office: 404.656.3673
Fax: 404.463.1998

Bill Carmichael
New Establishment Coordinator, and Enforcement, Investigations, and Analysis Officer (EIAO)
Email: William.Carmichael@agr.georgia.gov
Tele: (404) 656-6923

Sue Morris
Program Analyst
Email: Sue.Morris@agr.georgia.gov
Tele: (404) 656-6923

Steve Farmer
Talmadge/ Aiken (TA) Coordinator
Email: Steve.FarmerJr@agr.georgia.gov
Tele: (404) 656-3673

Mark Woodard, Supervisor
Meat Compliance Supervisor
Email: Mark.Woodard@agr.georgia.gov
Tele: (404) 656-6923

Brenda Manley, DVM
Statewide Veterinary Supervisor
Email: Brenda.Manley@agr.georgia.gov
Tele: (404) 656-3673

Richard E. Fife
Statewide Training Officer
Email: Richard.Fife@agr.georgia.gov
Tele: (404) 656-3673

 

The Meat Inspection office governs and regulates the statutes on meat slaughter and  processing plants to assure a safe, wholesome, and properly  labeled meat supply for consumers.

Meat Inspection regulates:

  • Red meat slaughter & processing
  • Daily inspection of State facilities, Federal facilities, under the Talmadge-Aiken Act, and Custom-exempt facilities
  • Provides compliance oversight of meat products in commerce
  • Voluntary inspection of the slaughter and processing of farm raised commercial non-amenable species.

GDA Notice of Non-Discrimination

 

Non-Employee Discrimination Complaints
The Georgia Department of Agriculture does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, disability, age or sex in the administration of its programs or activities. To learn more, or file a complaint, visit: http://www.agr.georgia.gov/title-vi.aspx

Quejas por discriminación contra quienes no son empleados
El Departamento de Agricultura de Georgia no discrimina por motivos de raza, color, origen nacional, discapacidad, edad o sexo en la administración de sus programas o actividades. Para obtener más información o para presentar unaqueja, visite: http://www.agr.georgia.gov/title-vi.aspx

USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form
https://www.ascr.usda.gov/filing-program-discrimination-complaint-usda-customer

Americans with Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines (ADAAG)
https://www.access-board.gov/guidelines-and-standards/buildings-and-sites/about-the-ada-standards/background/adaag

Animal Inspection Meat Inspection Rules 40-10-1

 

 

Newsletter

About once a quarter we send out our Meat Inspection Newsletter with important and interesting information about Meat Inspection. Sign up for our newsletter today and don't miss another issue!

All Newsletters

Language Assistance

  • Free language assistance is available upon request

  • 언어 지원 서비스는 요청시 무료로 제공됩니다.

  • 如有需要,我们可提供免费的语言服务。

  • Asistencia de idioma gratuita está disponible con solicitud previa.

  • Có trợ giúp ngôn ngữ miễn phí khi có yêu cầu.